Tag Archives: 2011 Dallas Cowboys

A look at how the 2011 Dallas Cowboys were built

Building a team isn’t easy and the Dallas Cowboys will begin the process of remaking theirs. In general, NFL clubs turn over a third of their personnel each season. Dallas figures to address needs in the secondary and along the offensive line as it also attempts to fortify the inside linebacker position and enhance its pass rush.

Here is a look at how the 2011 team was constructed and how each player was acquired. The Cowboys may follow a similar plan in 2012 or they could implement a new strategy.

From the Draft (29)
2003: CB Terence Newman, TE Jason Witten, LB Bradie James
2005: LB DeMarcus Ware, DE Marcus Spears, NT Jay Ratliff
2006: DE Jason Hatcher
2007: LB Anthony Spencer, LT Doug Free, CB Alan Ball
2008: RB Felix Jones, CB Mike Jenkins, TE Martellus Bennett, CB Orlando Scandrick
2009: QB Stephen McGee, LB Victor Butler, K David Buehler, TE John Phillips
2010: WR Dez Bryant, LB Sean Lee, NT Sean Lissemore, NT Josh Brent
2011: RT Tyron Smith, LB Bruce Carter, RB DeMarco Murray, G David Arkin, WR Dwayne Harris, FB Shaun Chapas, LG Bill Nagy

Signed as Free Agents (31)
2003: QB Tony Romo
2004: P Mat McBriar
2005: LS L.P. Ladouceur
2006: RG Kyle Kosier, WR Miles Austin
2009: LB Keith Brooking, S Gerald Sensabaugh, WR Kevin Ogletree
2010: S Barry Church, C Phil Costa, WR Jesse Holley, S Danny McCray, T Jermey Parnell
2011: S Abram Elam, DE Kenyon Coleman, LG Derrick Dockery, FB Tony Fiammetta, QB Chris Greisen, RB Sammy Morris, WR Laurent Robinson, CB Frank Walker, LB Alex Albright, K Dan Bailey, K Kai Forbath, LG Montrae Holland, WR Andre Holmes, G Kevin Kowalski, WR Raymond Radway, RB Phillip Tanner, P Chris Jones, RB Chauncey Washington

Claimed via Waivers (1)
2010: DE Clifton Geathers

Via Trades (1)
2009: QB Jon Kitna

Practice Squad (1)
2010: S Mana Silva

2011 NFL PLAYOFF PICTURE: If playoffs started today … Dallas Cowboys would host the Atlanta Falcons

2011 NFL Playoff Picture

For a comprehensive look at the 2011 NFL Playoffs, check out the new PLAYOFFS page on The Boys Are Back blog … or click HERE.


%d bloggers like this: