WHERE’S THE LOVE? Only two Dallas Cowboys to Pro Bowl, fewest for team since 2002

NFL Pro Bowl 2011

Only two Dallas Cowboys, linebacker DeMarcus Ware and nose tackle Jay Ratliff were named to the Pro Bowl when the NFC and AFC all-star teams were announced on Tuesday.

It’s the fewest number of Cowboys going to the Pro Bowl since 2002 when defensive tackle La’Roi Glover was their lone representative.

Ware, who is second in the league in sacks with 18, was voted in as a starter. It is his sixth straight trip to the Pro Bowl.

Ratliff was voted to the Pro Bowl for the fourth straight year. He will go in as a reserve after recording two sacks, six tackles for loss, 12 quarterback pressures and four pass deflections in 2011.

“It’s a great honor to be selected to play in the Pro Bowl,” Ware said. “It shows that all the work through the offseason and season pays off. It’s special because you are selected by the fans, your peers and coaches around the league. I am excited to represent the Dallas Cowboys and the entire NFL in the game. Since my rookie season, I always strived on working hard, being consistent and playing at a high level, and it really means something on a personal level to be rewarded.”

That tight end Jason Witten didn’t make the team was notable because it ended a streak of seven straight trips to the Pro Bowl for him. He could be added as an alternate as well as quarterback Tony Romo, linebacker Sean Lee and rookie tackle Tyron Smith.


Comments and Questions are always welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: